Flash 9 install problem on Mac OS X

I routinely upgraded my flash player on my G4 Powerbook the other day, and was surprised to find that Flash stopped working. I use several browsers and it didn’t work on any of them (Explorer, Safari, Opera). Especially YouTube, had the worse problem, as it wouldn’t show any movies and gave me the strange error:

“ Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe’s Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.” Took a while but I figured it out:

  1. Close all active programs
  2. Go to Macintosh HD/Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility. Select your hard drive from the left panel and click on “Repair Disk Permissions”.
  3. Download the Flash Player Installer and Uninstaller from here.
  4. Run the uninstaller and then the installer.

It turns out that Opera still doesn’t work, but at least Safari does, and thats good enough for me. Also while surfing around I realized that Mac:Explorer is completely unsupported and I uninstalled it forever.

Leave a comment